MSU’s Jeffrey Gore among newly appointed members of the Farm, Ranch, and Rural Communities federal advisory committee

Jeffrey Gore standing in a field.
Jeffrey Gore (Photo by Kevin Hudson)

A Mississippi State University research professor is a newly appointed member to the Environmental Protection Agency’s Farm, Ranch, and Rural Communities Committee. U.S. EPA Administrator Andrew Wheeler and U.S. Sen. Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.) announced today [June 17] the appointment of Jeffrey Gore, one of 33 new committee members.

Gore, an entomologist with the Mississippi Agricultural and Forestry Experiment Station and MSU Extension, is based at Mississippi State’s Delta Research and Extension Center in Stoneville. Established in 2008, the FRRCC provides independent policy advice, information, and recommendations to the EPA administrator on a range of environmental issues and policies that are of importance to agriculture and rural communities. Hyde-Smith, who holds seats on the Senate Agriculture and Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committees, recommended Gore for the FRRCC position.

“One of my priorities for EPA has been to restore trust for our agency among agricultural stakeholders and rural communities,” said Wheeler. “President Trump has been clear about the administration’s commitment to agriculture and rural America, and as part of that commitment, I am excited to reinstate the Farm, Ranch, and Rural Communities Committee in 2020 with full membership. This committee will provide valuable input on how EPA’s decisions impact rural America, and I look forward to receiving the committee’s recommendations.”

PK10注册_500 Internal Server Error

Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error and was unable to complete your request. Either the server is overloaded or there is an error in the application.

The committee had no current members at the time of solicitation; therefore, these 33 nominees will constitute a new committee, and will each serve two- or three-year terms beginning on June 15, 2020.

For further information, visit the FRRCC website at A complete listing of committee members is available here.